Philippine long weekends and holidays in 2012!

Hikers love long weekends, and as early as now we are speculating on the following long weekends that have been made possible by abundance of Philippine holidays in 2012! We are able to formulate this preliminary list thanks to Proclamation no. 295 released last week which specifies holidays.

1. January 21-23, 2012 (Chinese New Year)
2. April 5-9, 2012 (Holy Week + Araw ng Kagitingan) – With the Araw ng Kagitingan merging with Holy Week, this is a super five-day holiday, which can make you climb even the longest trail of Mt. Apo!
3. April 28-29 (April 30) May 1, 2012 (Labor Day) – Labor Day falls on a Tuesday; this can be another four-day long weekend if you take a leave on the 30th! This is a possible date for PinoyMountaineer Snow Mountain Expedition!
4. June 9-10(June 11)12, 2012 – Independence Day falls on a Tuesday; this can be yet another four-day weekend if you take a leave on the 11th! I hope though that the mountains will not suffer during this long weekend!
5. August 18-21, 2012 (Eid-al-Fitr and Ninoy Aquino Day) – A full four-day long weekend if the Eid-al-Fitr falls on the 20th!
6. August 25-27, 2012 (National Heroes Day)
7. October 26-28, 2012 (Eid-al-Adha: tentative)
8. November 1-4 (All Saints’ Day + special non-working day)
9. November 30-Dec 2 (Bonifacio Day)
10. December 29-Jan 1 (New Year)

As per Proclamation no. 295, here’s the list of Philippine holidays and non-working days for 2012:
A. Regular Holidays
New Year’s Day – January 1 (Sunday)
Maundy Thursday- April 5
Good Friday – April 6
Araw ng Kagitingan – April 9 (Monday)
Labor Day -May 1 (Tuesday)
Independence Day – June 12 (Tuesday)
National Heroes Day – August 27 (Last Monday of August)
Bonifacio Day – November 30 (Friday)
Christmas Day – December 25 (Tuesday)
Rizal Day – December 30
B. Special (Non-Working) Days
Chinese New Year – January 23 (Monday)
Ninoy Aquino Day – August 21 (Tuesday)
All Saints Day – November 1 (Thursday)
Additional special (non-working) day – November 2 (Friday)
Last Day of the Year- December 31 (Monday
C. Special Holiday (for all schools)
EDSA Revolution Anniversary – February 25 (Saturday)
And let me add the tentative dates for the Muslim holidays:
Eid-al-Fitr – August 20 (Monday)
Eid-al-Adha – October 26 (Friday)

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

2 Comments on "Philippine long weekends and holidays in 2012!"


Guest
Anonymous
7 years 10 days ago

oops sorry i stand corrected, it's google fault :( holly week falls on first week of april

Guest
Anonymous
7 years 10 days ago

Please update but i think maundy thursday and good friday falls on april 12-13, 2012 respectively. National Heroes day is on april 9. Unless we file our leave on april 10 and 11 then it is a long weekend holiday starting april 7-15.